Return to Headlines

National Merit Semifinalists Named at MHS

Congratulations to the following Magnet High School students for being selected as Semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program: Omay Edekar, Lara Karacasu, Raymond Li, Max McKenna, Rohan Setia, and Isabella Yee. Over 1.6 million juniors in some 22,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 PSAT. The Semifinalists are the highest scoring program participants in each state. They now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million. From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 90% of them are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. Good luck!